Entdecke das historische Irland

                           auf der Glen Keen Farm

Geschichte der Farm

Glenkeen – GleannCaoin (das sanfte/milde Tal)

 

1641 hieß der Eigentümer von Glankenie Richard McWalter McJordane. In Petty's Landkarte von 1683 wurde aus Glankenie Glankeyne. 1841 hatte das Dorf Glenkeen schließlich 51 männliche und 57 weibliche Einwohner.

 

Die große Hungersnot in den 1840er Jahren suchte auch Glenkeen heim und so bestand der Ort 1851 lediglich noch aus 31 männlichen und 34 weiblichen Bewohnern. Aus ehemals 108 Einwohnern wurden 65 Einwohner, von 22 Bauernhöfen überlebten 12.

 

Grund- und Bodeneigentum war im Irland des frühen 19. Jahrhunderts nur einer kleinen Minderheit vorbehalten; die Gesamtbevölkerung lag 1804 bei knapp 5,5 Millionen, von denen kaum mehr als 10.000 Landbesitz hatten. Durch Neuansiedlungen von Einwanderer aus Großbritannien wurde Land konfisziert. Diese Konfiszierungen wurden später durch Cromwell, Charles II, William III und die sogenannten „Penal Laws“ (Strafgesetze gegen die katholische Bevölkerung) fortgesetzt und hatten schließlich zur Folge, dass 1770 95 % der gesamten Anbaufläche des Landes in den Händen von Protestanten war.

 

Im Irland des  frühen 19. Jahrhunderts war es üblich, Land an Mietgemeinschaften zu vermieten.

Diese Gemeinschaftsvermietungen wurden „Rundale“ genannt. Viele Landbesitzer waren nicht vor Ort und übertrugen Verwaltern die Aufgabe der Farmbewirtschaftung. Es bestand absolute Abhängigkeit von der Kartoffel als Grundnahrungsmittel und zwischen 1816 und 1842 gab es mindestens 14 teilweise oder komplette Kartoffel-Missernten.

 

Philip O'Malley und andere sind im Glenkeen Gebiet angekommen, nachdem sie das Killmilkin/Maam Valley Gebiet in der nördlichen Connemara verlasssen mussten. Philip hat Mary Burke geheiratet, die vermutlich aus dem Raum Ugool stammte. 1824 wurden als Miete für ihr Glenkeen-Anwesen deftige 0-15-00 Pfund erhoben.

 

Philip und Marys Sohn William (1826 – 1889), der mit Mary Kilcoyne (1830 – 1905) verheiratet war, gelang es, stets die Miete aufzubringen, aber leider musste er, wie andere auch, 1846/47 das Land verlassen. Die Familie zog nach Bouris, das nicht zum Gebiet von Lord Sligo gehörte, sondern Sir Roger Palmer. William und seine Familie pachteten nach 1847 Land in Bouris. Ab 1867 pachtete William zusätzlich 58 acre in Old Head. Dieses Land gehörte wiederum Lord  Sligo.

 

William and Marys Tochter Mary heiratete John McNamara of Crickeen und 1909 heiratete  deren Enkelin Margaret McNamara Hugh O'Grady. Das junge Paar zog in das Haus der O'Gradys in Sharoosky. Hugh war vormals Hirte auf der Houston Farm gewesen; dieses riesige Gebiet war von Lord Sligo 1854 für 31 Jahre an William Houston verpachtet worden.

 

1885 bereitete das Ashbourne Landgesetz den Weg des Eigentumserwerbes durch Mieter. Das Wyndham-Gesetz führte schließlich zur Abschaffung des Grundbesitzerprinzips und so konnten die Mieter fortan ihre gepachteten Grundstücke erwerben.

 

Hugh O'Grady und seine Frau Margaret (geb. McNamara), Großmutter des vertriebenen William O'Malley, erwarben das jetzige Glenkeen-Anwesen. Die heutigen Eigentümer sind Catherine, Margarets Enkelin, und ihr Ehemann Jim.

 

Glen Keen Farm, Louisburgh, Co. Mayo, Ireland. Telephone 353 (0)87 616 7396 E glenkeenfarm@gmail.com

WINNER BEST

TOUR FEATURE

Experience historic Ireland

                                                with Glen Keen Farm

Glimpes of Erin: Take a tour of Ireland in the 1930's by clicking here

ORPHAN GIRL

Filmed on location in Westport County Mayo

Words by Brendan Graham - Melody by Rolf Løvland

 

I am an orphan girl,

In Westport I was found,

The workhouse is my world,

Since the praties took us down,

What time in life is left to me,

If I don’t leave Westport town,

But the crown is sending girls to sea,

For far Australia bound.

Chorus

Sail, sail, sail me away,

Sail to Australia;

Sail, sail, sail me I pray,

Sail me away… to Australia.

Glen Keen Farm

History

 

Glenkeen- Gleann Caoin (The gentle/mild glen)

The 1641 proprietor of Glankenie was Richard Mc Walter Mc Jordane.  In Petty’s map of 1683 Glankenie becomes Glankeyne  and in 1841 the village of Glankeen had a population of 51 males and 57 females.

 

The Great Hunger of the 1840s devastated the region and by 1851 the Glenkeen population had plummeted to 31 males and 34 females. A total of 108 had fallen to 65 and 22 homesteads became 12.

 

Landownership in early 19th century Ireland was the preserve of a small minority; the overall population in 1804 was slightly under 5.5 million of whom no more than 10,000 were landed proprietors.  Confiscations through Plantations and later under Cromwell, Charles II, William III and the Penal Laws had by the late 1770s resulted in Protestants owning 95% of Ireland’s total acreage.

 

In early 19th century Ireland the letting of land in communal partnership was common.  This joint tenancy was known as Rundale.  Many landlords were absentees and allowed middlemen to run their estates.  There was an  over-dependence on the potato as a staple food and between 1816 and 1842 there were at least 14 partial or general failures of the potato crop.

 

Philip O’Malley and others had arrived in the Glenkeen area, having endured forced migration from the Killmilkin/Maam Valley area of north Connemara.  Philip married Mary Burke who was probably from the Ugool area and in 1824 the cess/tax levy imposed on their Glenkeen tenancy by the Grand Jury of Mayo was a hefty £0-15-00.

 

Philip and Mary’s son William (1826 – 1889), who was married to Mary Kilcoyne (1830-1905), succeeded as tenant on the holding but sadly the family and others were evicted in 1846 or 1847.  The family moved to Bouris which was not part of the Lord Sligo estate and was owned by Sir Roger Palmer.  While William and family were tenants in Bouris after 1847, William had also become tenant of 58 acres in Old Head by 1867. The landlord there was Lord Sligo.

 

William and Mary’s daughter Mary married John Mc Namara of Crickeen and in 1909 their grand-daughter, Margaret Mc Namara, married Hugh O’Grady.  The young couple settled in the O’Grady family home in Shraroosky.  Hugh was a former herdsman on the Houston Farm; this huge area of the parish had in 1854 been leased by Lord Sligo to William Houston for 31 years.

 

In 1885 the Ashbourne Land Act prepared the way for tenant proprietorship. The Wyndham Act of 1903 led to the abolition of landlordism and the tenant farmers were becoming the owners of their holdings.

 

Hugh O’Grady and his wife Margaret (nee Mc Namara), who was grand-daughter of the evicted William O’Malley, acquired the present Glenkeen property and it is Margaret’s grand-daughter Catherine and her husband Jim who are the current owners of Glenkeen Farm.

 

Glen Keen Farm, Louisburgh, Co. Mayo, Ireland. Telephone 353 (0)87 616 7396 Email glenkeenfarm@gmail.com

GPS Coordinates: 53.6887939    -9.7869131